Independent Banking Advisory Service

Established in 1992  

IBAS Testimonials

Independent Banking Advisory Service (IBAS) - IBAS launched in 1992 as a specialist unincorporated business banking membership organization assisting bank customers with UK business banking account loan disputes and business banking debt disputes with their bank. Our analysis and investigation of business bank loans, business bank accounts, business banking contracts, business banking account facilities and business banking debt recovery information has been instrumental in our member's success.

IBAS is now in it's 25th year helping/guiding those with UK Business Banking disputes and Director's Personal Guarantee business debt claims - IBAS is the only UK non profit organization which provides business banking customers with specialist business banking assistance and specialist business banking guidance and also IBAS specialist business banking investigations.

IBAS Testimonials

 

IBAS Unique Benefits

IBAS FAQs

Business Banking Disputes

Business Banking

Business Bank Overcharge/s

Bank Mortgage

UK Bank Litigation

Personal Guarantee

Personal Guarantee/ Indemnity

Banking Litigation Report

Business Banking Solutions

Banking articles

IBAS_Site_Map

Useful Bank Customer Links

IBAS UK Banking News and Comment Archive

Banks MPs and Government

Home

Contact Us

 

UK Net Guide Banking Bodies Top 10 Site

'Attention IBAS CEO - Peter is a great help with negotiation with banks. He and his colleagues have many years experience and are more knowledgeable than a solicitor and a hell of a lot cheaper. I think I paid about £750 for months of work and long and detailed emails. With a lawyer I would have easily paid £10,000 plus for the amount of correspondence involved. 

My case was about negotiation of a mortgage shortfall that was harshly calculated at a very high figure of £227,000. My mistake was employing IBAS services too late in the day when a charge had already been registered on my property and negotiation was virtually impossible. Had I used IBAS after repossession of the property 5 years earlier then the results would have been a lot better. As it was, I managed to get the charge removed at a slightly reduced rate with the assistance of Peter at IBAS. 

Banks have become increasingly clever and manipulative with mortgage shortfall scenarios, so be very careful with negotiation. I paid a big price as I was unaware that IBAS had such a brilliant service to offer. I hope others don't fall into the same trap. If you have doubts get on the telephone to IBAS and let them take your case.' - JR March 2016 

"My ex business partner and I found IBAS using an internet search and I have to say it was an excellent decision to use them. We found ourselves in a very difficult situation with Barclays after signing a personal guarantee several years ago when we setup and funded a new estate agent. Unfortunately, during the credit crunch of 2008 our core business of mortgage broking became in trouble and we decided to end our involvement in the estate agent and focus on our main business.

The estate agent managed to survive this difficult period by continually borrowing more money from Barclays on three more occasions after we have left the business. They did this on the strength of the original guarantee which we always thought was morally wrong. The remaining partner in the business then changed banks and he assumed that we would have to pay this money back as by now our respective businesses were once again doing well. Barclays wanted us to pay £22,000 when the original debt in 2008 was approx. £8000.

So after 5 years of no communication, to receive a demand for £22K was very worrying and frustrating. I initially tried speaking to Barclays but they were unbelievably unhelpful and wouldn’t disclose any information about how the debt had arisen. They just kept threatening legal action.

We then used several local solicitors who in truth were no use or help, as this field is very specialised. We complained to FOS who again in truth were useless. After looking on the internet we came across Peter French at IBAS. After a conversation it became very clear that he is very well informed and experienced in this field. He helped me personally get to a situation of not having to pay a penny to Barclays and IBAS helped my friend and ex business partner negotiate down to 7K. Which we all felt was a fair outcome. I also decided to pay half this as I felt that was only fair. I would strongly recommend Peter and his team". - AK February 2016

I engaged Peter at IBAS in connection with a  Personal Guarantee issue we were having with a major High Street Bank after the breakdown of a relationship with a former business partner. I did not try and negotiate directly with the Bank. Initially we instructed a Local law firm who charged us a few thousand pounds and whilst they made a reasonable effort to argue a few points they were only really delaying tactics that didn’t quite get “under the skin” of my case.

I found Peter very communicative at all times and he responded in great detail by email and phone. He argued our case with the Bank’s appointed representatives and it was obvious he was highly experienced in this type of matter. Unfortunately, it did become necessary to seek advice from a Barrister as my case became complex in nature but IBAS recommended an expert in the field to work through my case file. Ultimately we were able to settle with the Bank for a figure which I believe was lower than had I attempted to negotiate myself”. - MD - February 2016

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your advice and support in this matter. I would have no hesitation in seeking your advice again in the future should the occasion arise, and would recommend IBAS to anyone else. Kind regards” - RP - February 2016

"I found the information provided and advice given helpful in ensuring the bank reviewed the situation properly". - DG - February 2016

I am writing to express my sincere thanks to you and IBAS for helping me successfully defend the claim brought against me by NatWest bank in relation to some personal guarantees. The advice you provided was absolutely invaluable. It was clear at the outset that you were very experienced in handling such complex matters and understood the behaviour of the bank involved. You provided comprehensive and detailed information at every stage. I followed your advice to the letter and ultimately it paid dividends. I cannot recommend IBAS highly enough. Thank you - From MJ October 2013

Many thanks for all your help to resolve this matter so quickly and efficiently. We will not hesitate to recommend you to others in a similar situation. It has reduced much worry and stress and we can now move on." - From LD September 2013

'Thank you once again for all your help and hard work. I would have lost my second property without you.' - From NC June 2013

'IBAS were very professional in the way they went about collecting information on my case and informing me of how I should proceed. The help they gave me on how to handle the bank's attempts to contact me was invaluable and key to reaching a successful conclusion with my case and a full write off .' - From JY May 2013

I can’t thank you and IBAS enough. I’d be more than happy to provide a testimonial. From AM July 2012

 

 

IBAS further Testimonials below:

I discovered IBAS via a Google search for “personal guarantee advice”. Until this point I didn’t know that such an organization existed. At the same time I had also started talking to a number of solicitors about my position. The reason that I put my faith in IBAS was that it was clear they had extensive knowledge about PG’s. It seems to be a very specific area of law and whilst the solicitors were very gung ho it was clear they did not have as much specific expertise as IBAS. Since taking on my case IBAS have provided detailed, accurate and realistic advice. They are comfortable handling the various tactics deployed by the banks and provide strength and support during what can become a very stressful situation. I would probably have caved in or lost had IBAS not been handling my case. - MJ

'I found IBAS to be Impressive & professional with no nonsense. I followed IBAS strategy totally and the result was spectacular. Thanks for putting my life back on track and saving me a bucket load of money - I cannot thank you enough. I would now start with IBAS and ignore all the others who are 'selling' an imitation of these guys but without IBAS knowledge! - AT November 2016

'Hi Peter, I would just like to thank you for your services. IBAS and you personally were recommended to me by a friend who had used you to deal with a business banking situation he found himself in. Our situation was that we had a personal guarantee issue from a business. Barclays were claiming against two personal guarantees one of which should have been and we believed they had cancelled. Our first mistake, trusting a bank. Barclays took it upon themselves to try and claim (and at one point got a judgement against us for nearly £80.000) the full amount plus interests and costs - which I am sure they would have achieved had we not used IBAS. 

Peter and IBAS found in the paperwork I had kept from 2004 documentary evidence to support our belief that the amount was actually what we thought and one of the guarantees did not legally stand. Even so without Peter's knowledge and input this would have been no use to us as we did not understand the laws and technical ways of presenting this back to Barclays and the court. We attended court three times and defended ourselves against Barclays Barristers with success on each occasion using the advice IBAS had given us. Eventually we managed to get some progress at court and accepted we owed around £56.000 Peter and IBAS then began negotiating on our behalf a settlement, we had an interim agreement whilst we got a settlement amount together and a very short time ago paid £26.000 to Barclays in a full and final settlement.

I have to say that the banks are completely ruthless and have no regard for personal situations and just look to make as much money as possible from every situation there is no way you can deal with them on your own, they will wrap you up in red tape and haunt you for the rest of your life. Let IBAS deal with them! Thank you once again. Kind regards'. - From TCJ September 2014

'I wish IBAS future success in helping others.  It was very helpful to us as your knowledge in dealing with the bank, gave us breathing space and removed the stress of writing to the bank and possibly getting ourselves in a worse position. So thanks for all that'. - From SJ September 2014

"Thanks to the team at IBAS. God only knows where I would be today, had I not had the much needed help to take on the wrath of the monster known as "Nat West". Once again, thanks for your assistance, not only this time but also a few years ago when you saved my 'bacon' then - as well. You couldn't put a price on IBAS's true value". - From RS July 2013

I went to IBAS for help in fighting Lloyds Bank over a situation not of my making and from day one they helped me focus on what was needed to be done in fighting it. They were very professional in their approach in gathering information about the case so they could start correspondence with Lloyds in fighting this claim & from that day onwards until Lloyds finally decided they were not going to pursue the claim IBAS really helped me focus on what was needed to done & were always their at the end of the phone if required. I would have no hesitation in recommending IBAS to anyone who felt the Banks were unfairly trying to obtain money from them & required professional help. - From JR August 2014

The Bank had bullied us and our business into submission with huge charges, fees and higher interest rates, with the threat of higher costs to come. We could see a Bank attempting to destroy our business, so that they could then rely on our Personal Guarantees and security. When IBAS 'took up' our case they took over direct contact with the bank and immediately the daily nightmare for us disappeared. IBAS direct involvement with the bank prevented the Bank directly bullying us and destroying our business. That 'peace of mind' was well worth IBAS membership. - From Mr H December 2013

Matters are now settled and my total outstanding liability of 340k was negotiated down to a one off payment of 25k. Thank you for your help and assistance with this matter. - From Mr W December 2013

Our Bank saw our business as their 'cash cow' and we became 'drawn' daily by the bank into areas and agreements they understood and we didn't. The bank allowed us little time to actually think about what we were being forced into agreeing. IBAS took over direct contact with the bank. They knew exactly on which areas to concentrate and how best to do so by fully understanding the level of detail required and how to obtain information from the bank with which to evidence a strong case for us. All IBAS advice was provided under membership and that proved to be very cost effective. Maximum success was only because of IBAS knowledge and strategy, combined with investigative 'determination' which enabled them to successfully challenge the Bank for us. We would not have kept our business or achieved a successful conclusion without IBAS and cannot thank them enough. - From Mr P December 2013

"We were very grateful for your assistance at a very difficult time for us. You provided good and timely advice and it was useful to have an independent perspective on the case. You also acted as a buffer between ourselves and the bank which perhaps moderated their dealings with us and bought us some time in which to organise our settlement. You were also good value. We still believe that the bank behaved badly but unfortunately that seems to be the way of the world today. Thank you for your help." - From SAC January 2013

 

 

 

 

 

"There are many businesses now offering personal guarantee help and advice online and when I knew that I faced a serious bank problem from a very aggressive stance by the bank in chasing a very large Personal Guarantee Debt Claim, my first priority was to find out which company (or organization) had credibility (which could be checked), knowledge and also 'clout' (which could be checked) to protect me whilst negotiating with the bank on my behalf and with a 'service' that could be trusted and provided at a price that was reasonable for me.

My research was illuminating and rewarding as there is so much about IBAS which provided me with confidence. I found many cases (using the information from the IBAS News pages to start my research) where IBAS evidently influenced public opinion on banking behavior. Amongst the many press articles quoting IBAS, I found some particularly good articles in the Daily Express archives (having followed up information provided on the IBAS News pages). It proved to me that IBAS were using the national media to help businesses with banking problems just like mine. This with other press articles which I managed to source, not only proved to me that IBAS had the 'ear' of the press to 'pressure' banks for their members but also I then realized that IBAS had 'passed' considerable media scrutiny to be in that position and therefore was an organization which could be trusted.

If you want to check IBAS out (I did by checking the sources and dates provided in the IBAS News sections available on the IBAS web site) you might look at this BBC link for BBC TV Watchdog 14 years ago and look at the Express Archives for Tuesday September 7th 1999 on page 10 (I have the copy of the published Daily Express page from 14 years ago) which provided verification that The article by Eddy Weatherill was published by the Daily Express as IBAS claimed.

IBAS has published articles and information on business banking disputes and Eddy Weatherill ceo of IBAS has appeared on BBC TV 'advancing' banking customer issues at least 7 times, plus ITV and Sky TV (again facts that can be checked from the sources I have used). I then selected IBAS to help me, because they were 'head and shoulders' above any of the others. IBAS alone proved to have credibility and respect from BBC TV and others, which is very impressive. Having verified that IBAS were credible, respected and had been protecting people like me for 20 years with IBAS 'clout' in the industry evidenced by huge amounts of publicity, I was convinced and it was then a 'no brainer' because IBAS provided the most experienced help and advice to protect me.

When I contacted IBAS by email they provided efficient and quick responses. The offer of membership was for a years direct help and advice (not a quick fix 'chat' and/or referral to a fee based professional). The membership cost was provided immediately to me (unlike others I had contacted and researched). I joined IBAS immediately because it was affordable and because I also knew I had the best in this field 'on my side'. Within hours IBAS had communicated with the bank. IBAS then proved to be unflappable, solid and effective as a 'shield' protecting me from the bank as IBAS controlled communications direct with the bank using great skill.

Many months of 'investigation' took place as IBAS continued to question and manipulate the bank regarding the 'details' within the bank's claim/s (what I witnessed in operation was a very professional, knowledgeable and efficient strategy). IBAS always kept me informed and many emails crossed between us proving thoroughness and efficiency. My confidence in IBAS increased. That 'safe' feeling meant I concentrated 100% on my work and earning without distraction. The 'peace of mind' was worth every penny of IBAS membership. I am now 'free' from the bank personal guarantee debt claim. We are totally indebted to IBAS for their expertise and absolute integrity in gaining that position. Our resolution was incredible. We would recommend IBAS to anyone faced with a serious bank debt claim." - From WG September 2013

When he came to IBAS for help Mr X was faced with a six figure claim on his personal guarantee - after IBAS assisted him by (in his words) "achieving an outstanding result." - he wrote: " thank you for the result that you have achieved in relation to the personal guarantee liability we had with Barclays Bank. We cannot stress the relief when you informed us that the Bank has decided not to pursue any further action against us for the debt. From the onset Barclays pursued the claim with the banks usual aggressive attitude and whereas most people were advising us to try and agree a deal your belief that we could challenge the guarantee gave us the prospect of at least delaying any action against us as they had indicated that they would be taking our house. The outcome was without doubt more than we could have ever wished for, the Bank having made a commercial decision not to pursue any further action against us in relation to the guarantee liability”. We would highly recommend your services to anyone placed in the same position that we found ourselves in. Once again thank you for all your efforts in achieving an outstanding result." - XX - July 2012

"I am really grateful to IBAS for the support and advice received over a personal guarantee I signed with HSBC. When the business went into administration in 2008,  I immediately sought legal advice with a local solicitor. After two years of legal correspondence, I received Court Papers claiming the full amount of the debt. The guarantee was joint and several with two other business partners and it was called upon for all three of us. After receiving the Court papers I realized I needed to receive more specific and expert advice. I found IBAS through an Internet search and after my case was accepted in Feb 2011, I was advised I did not have a defence and the most sensible option was for me to negotiate a payment with HSBC through IBAS. HSBC eventually accepted my final offer. My other two business partners both decided to go to Court - unfortunately losing their cases and receiving summary judgments. They are now both waiting for the judgment to be executed with the risk of HSBC enforcing the order with an order for a sale of their properties. Thank you IBAS for looking at my case so promptly and efficiently and for guiding me to make the right decision - however difficult it was." - SS

'It's been a horrendous year but we're still here, still healthy & reasonably optimistic for the future which is more than can be said for some. Thank you for your help in dealing with Barclays, it really was invaluable. Your calm approach gave me courage & kept me sane through what was an extremely difficult time.' - From BG December 2012

‘You have played an absolutely central role in ensuring we survived and you have my sincere thanks for that.’ - From PM December 2012

 

 

After getting pressure from the bank to reduce exposure and dispose of assets while we were always up to date with payments and other commitments we felt we were out of our depth and had to rely on the bank telling us what, when and how to do things without us having a say. I contacted IBAS after searching the internet for a specialist in bank based issues I liked the fact the person who had started IBAS had had a bad experience with the banks and was willing to share his knowledge and experience with others. 

We found IBAS to be great support during our negotiations with the bank as they took a much harder line with them than we would have done on our own, and we also think the bank thought more about its response and actions more carefully knowing IBAS was monitoring our position very carefully and advising a step by step response to bank. Even after a finalized agreement was confirmed with the bank we found IBAS service to be a valuable addition to our business, so had no hesitation in renewing our membership knowing they are there when needed and provide a professional service. As we all know its when not if the bank starts to pressure us again and we feel better having the support and banking knowledge of IBAS backing us. – DH

Both my wife and I would like to offer our gratitude for your services and professional manner in which you have represented us during this difficult period. – T&TJ

I feel lucky that I "found" IBAS via the web. I did not realize that there was an organization that would help me through the impact of liquidating my company and the resulting pressure the bank would have then applied in realizing the personal guarantee I gave as security on a business loan. - ST

I was aware of Eddy Weatherill having followed his comments for several years. When I started to have problems with HSBC I did not hesitate in contacting IBAS who have always explained things in a very matter of fact and easy to understand manner. On your web site you advise against using ‘Local’ Accountants and Solicitors. This is very good advice as the activities of mine clearly proved. I am more than happy to support IBAS. - PF

"Over the last couple of years, since my mortgage business went into Receivership along with so many others, I have been hounded by Lloyds TSB and their henchmen. This was in relation to a Personal Guarantee they state that I signed for a working overdraft with them. Their letters and telephone calls became incessant and finally the day came when I received a County Court summons in the sum of £54,000!

Whilst I knew that I had not signed any Personal Guarantee, and in fact had documentary evidence stating the overdraft was "unsecured", the County Court clock was ticking. Feeling very unsure of my next move and very vulnerable, I was recommended the services of IBAS by a close friend. I called them immediately and was blown away by the almost military discipline in which they dealt with my query. It was quite obvious to me that I needed these professionals in my corner and so I paid the membership fee immediately.

From then on I was marshaled into action and advised every step of the way. They were incredible. IBAS assisted me in supplying all my evidence to the Court and Lloyds TSB's claim has been struck out by the Judge as they did not bother to respond with any evidence. This is a battle that we have won, which could quite easily have been lost had I not joined IBAS. I would recommend them to absolutely everybody" - TM

The following statement was posted online by an IBAS member: "The fact that IBAS have the knowledge and provide assistance in formulating the strategy, which was provided to me under membership and which provided the necessary case law ammunition and support (letters continually making the correct points) to prevent the bank gaining the upper hand (preventing me making offers which I wanted to make, just to get this case against me closed, and which would have destroyed any defence) - that strength of position then also enabled me to 'face off' the bank's threat (although the bank/solicitors knew their claim was flawed) and this strength of resistance then forced them to discontinue their action - this is all a matter of fact and something which IBAS should be very pleased about." and also:

I understand that so many cases are lost before they start because under threats from the bank the customer provides an offer of payment - without understanding there may be a defence to the bank's claim. Having been induced to make that offer, the bank then goes for the jugular. Apparently I am one of a very small band of successful litigants, which I wouldn’t have been without IBAS behind me. - DeeJay   

John Stewart, director of Essex based IFA PMI, discovered the Independent Banking Advisory Service when one of his clients owed thousands of pounds on a house repossession. The debt was eventually cut to just over £1000. Since then he has referred a handful of clients who have serious debt to IBAS. Mr Stewart said: 'Sometimes as an IFA you have to admit that there is no advice you can give to help a person. In this financial sector there is someone who knows better' - Financial Adviser - 21/08/2003 (Quote from a Daily Mirror article).